(1) Keyword: A word that is associated with your ad.
Choose keywords associated with your ad. When people search for those keywords, they’ll see your ad.
(2) Impression: Seeing an ad.
I have a lot of impressions of my ad which is great. I just want to build brand awareness.
(3) CTR: Click Through Rate. The number of people who click on your ad in relation to the number who saw your ad.
My CTR is terrible. I wonder why no one likes my ad?
1. What product does Google have for selling advertising on search results?
2. What is a campaign?
a. Something you see when you search
b. Ads selling Business English
c. Many related ads
3. How much should you pay for an ad?
a. It depends on how many click the ad gets
b. It depends on the competition
c. A and B
By Jeremy Schaar
Google Adwords produced $42.5 billion in revenue in 2012. Pretty good, right?
Google has the best search engine in the world, but that’s not how they make money. Google makes money with advertising. Ads are placed around search results. Today on the blog, you’ll learn about Google Adwords and the key vocabulary needed to use it. It’s important for your business and for understanding how to compete.
Here’s how it works. You tell Google a simple idea for an ad and which searches you want the ad to be near. For example, I created this ad.
This ad is part of a campaign. Campaigns are a bunch of ads on one topic. In my case, I might make an ad for general Business English lessons, but also ads for Marketing English lessons, Strategy lessons, Supply Chain lessons, and so on.
How does Google figure out where to show your ad? You tell them the keywords that are important to you. Here are some of the keywords I chose for my ads.
Google has a few different ways to charge you for the advertising. The most popular is CPC–Cost Per Click. This means that you only pay when people click on your advertisement.
If there is a lot of competition for ads near your keywords, then you’ll pay more. But you can always choose a maximum bid.
For example, if you’re selling insurance in New York City, you’ll have to pay a lot for someone to click on your ad. If you’re selling ice-cream in the winter, you won’t need to pay so much.
The next thing to understand is impressions. These are the number of times that someone sees your ad. This number can be a lot higher than the number of people who click on your ad.
Your CTR–or Click Through Rate–is the number of clicks divided by the number of impressions times 100.
For example, your ad has 1000 impressions and 20 clicks. 20/1000 = .02. Times 100 is 2. 2 is your click through rate.
Next up is conversions. Conversions are the number of people who do what you want after they get to your site. To understand that, you’ll need to understand Google Analytics. Next week, I’ll introduce Google Analytics.